There Are Orange and Palm Trees Outside My Room!!

 We can’t eat the oranges :0( Stupid Pesticides…

I’m in Cali now, and getting your comments so far has made me smile – thank you so much!

 The past couple of days has been hectic. I almost missed my flight (never trust phone alarms), and then I left all of my important papers (passport, driving record, immunization record) at home, which now have to be faxed. But hey, I’m still alive and well.

We recieved uniforms that must be worn everyday while we are on duty.  There is no rolling of shirts or pants, no jewelry to be worn except for small earrings basically, and there are room inspections almost every day. Sounds intense…it is. I’m sure by next week I will be in the routine of things and none of this will cross mind.

We haven’t done too much except learn policies and rules, rules, and more rules.  The only time I’ve been off base was last night to get a pillow from Target. BUT! Tomorrow some girls and I are heading to San Francisco to check out the place. We’re going to take a walking tour and explore the national park.  :0) 

I’ll be trying to get pictures up soon – my computer is having a hard time connecting to the internet here. I’m apologizing in advance if I don’t write for a couple more days.

 As we say in Americorps (yes, cheesy mottos already), I’ll just be “getting things done”

Erin

 ILB

2 Comments

  1. Matt Langdon said,

    October 20, 2007 at 9:47 am

    That makes sense that you would go to San Francisco two days after I leave. It also makes sense to me that you would leave all your paperwork at home. And miss your alarm. :o)

  2. Jeff Garceau said,

    October 21, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Would I dare be that cheesy as to type out the lyrics to Tony Bennett’s “I Left My Heart in San Fransisco”..? You bet your ass I would

    I left my heart
    In San Fransisco
    High on a hill
    She(little ad lib there) calls to me
    To be where little cable cars
    Climb half way to the stars
    The morning fog may chill the air
    I don’t care, my love waits there
    In San Fransisco
    Above the blue, and windy sea
    When you come home to me my sweetest Erin (‘nother ad lib)
    That golden sun will shine for me

    Love you hun, glad your day was great:)


Leave a Reply

