Make A Difference Day

I apologize for not writing sooner – I actually had posted last weekend and it somehow got deleted. So I figured I could type it up again.
I have been assigned to my team that I will be with for the rest of my time with Americorps. I am really pumped to have all these people on my team. We seem to energize each other and have great times together. We played laser tag the other night against another Americorps team. Let’s just say we were ridiculous. We had a theme song, we were doing push ups as the other team walked up to the entrance, and we were all covered in black. We were intimidating, to say the least. Yes, we won.

Last Saturday, the 27th, was Make A Difference Day all across the country. People from all over came together and volunteered for a project and, of course, made a difference.
Fortunately, I was able to do the same. All of the Americorps teams found a project in the area to give a helping hand.
My team (Green 2) was assigned to an organization called Soil Born. It is an organization based on farmland that grows food for the community, gives people an opportunity to work, and provides green space for downtown Sacramento. We painted corals and chicken coops, planted garlic, and moved trash. There were three other teams with us, and with all the work combined we had estimated moving tons, literally, of trash, wood, and other miscellanous objects that do not belong in a field where food will be grown. It was great to get out there and do what I came here to do. Our team is going to move mountains this year.
:0) ILB

2 Comments

  1. Matt Langdon said,

    November 3, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Green 2? That’s your team name? Did you come up with that one or was it a brainstorming session? ;o)

  2. brian sehnert said,

    November 13, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Erin I am very proud of you and all you stand for-I love you Sweetie


Leave a Reply

