Dun Dun Dun…

We were told what our first project is going to be the other day! I had to wait so long for that moment and to finally know what I was going to be doing for eight weeks. It was definitely something I was never expecting…
We are cooking for all the volunteers who are staying at Camp Hope in St. Bernards Parrish (New Orleans, basically). So that’s about 500 people max a day to cook for. P.S. I don’t cook. For those who have never heard of Camp Hope, it is a “camp” that has existed since right after Katrina hit. So volunteers from all over will be staying there, expecting us to cook them wonderful food.
I’ll be honest, when I first heard, I was shocked. I was expecting to be working on top of roofs and building a house. This was the last thing I would ever think of. I know that this is going to be a lot of hard work, not being able to cook will be the least of our problems. If you think about it, though, 500 people wouldn’t be able to go out and do the hard work, such as building houses, without us. Plus, food always makes people happy. :0)
I can’t wait to talk about our fun adventures, including the five day road trip down there.

Getting Things Done

ILB

1 Comment

  1. Matt Langdon said,

    November 6, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Good stuff. I can’t wait to hear culinary disaster stories.


Leave a Reply

