Let Me See Your Frankenstein

There have been times when I’ve gotten extremely frustrated with the Americorps program. There are parts of my uniform that I have not recieved which I’m going to need for this coming weekend. Like a heavy coat, and an issued bag to bring my belongings in. Important stuff. I do realize, however, that we are the largest class in Americorps history (475 members) and that doubling the amount of members can make things stressful for the administration.
As much as I may think the program is somewhat unorganized, I do give them credit for some of the actions they take. They stress recycling everything and anything that can be recycled. If they find recyclables in the garbage, we get to search for it. When we were having food catered to us, we recieved bottles of water where all of the proceeds went to a Cure for Breast Cancer fund. That makes me happy.

We are heading to Camp Mendocino this weekend. Part of the Boys and Girls club of San Francisco, it is located in the redwoods. yes, I know, I should be feeling lucky. When I think of camp, though, I think of my own. The one that I grew up at, that has heat in the cabins, and windows that are made of glass…not tarp. And guess what? We get to go on their ropes course. If you know me, you know my fear of heights. And you also know that while growing up at camp, I couldn’t stand the ropes course. Yay for coming out of your comfort zone! With 2,000 acres of land, I’m really excited to see it. We have a campfire the night we get there, and I am definitely bringing out Frankenstein.

P.S. I’m up to running 3 miles straight through (that’s a lot for me) and I used an amazing circular saw the other day to build a box. *brushing the dirt off my shoulder*….

Getting Things Done

IlB :0)

3 Comments

  1. Matt Langdon said,

    November 14, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    That’s a lot of running. I found the other day that I can run for a full 100 seconds before stopping. There’s some room for improvement, but at least it’s double 50 seconds.

  2. Lisa said,

    November 14, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    LOL Matt!

    I totally understand what you mean about “your camp”. It’s hard to go somewhere else and think of it as “camp”. As far as ropes go…you can do it!! And never say the “F” word 😉

  3. Nella said,

    November 18, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    Hello Sweetie:

    I am just now getting around to reading your blog. What a great way to keep up with what is going on with you. San Francisco sounds wonderful. I’ll add it to my wish list.

    We’ve been busy this weekend getting the house ready for Thanksgiving – we will miss you! Chris came over last night to help your Dad with a new bathroom sink and he told us Sevi is pregnant!!!!!! She is due in June. It will be so nice to have a new little one in the family. I’m so excited for them.

    Have a great week. We are so proud of you Erin.

    Lots of love and hugs,

    Nella


Leave a Reply

