The Largest Living Species on Earth

I can now check it off my wish list for life: I have seen the largest living species in the world – Redwood Trees. They were amazingly huge…and they smelled wonderful. My Camp Mendocino experience was an experience like I’ve never had. It started with the 4 hour road trip there. I was driving the team through foothills (which, in all honesty, I call mountains) on roads that were curvy like the ones on those car commercials. While we were there, we had campfires, games, high ropes and low ropes, and did some community service work.

Our service was fuel reduction, which entails cutting down brush in certain areas so wildfires do not spread. We were removing logs and tree limbs, carrying them up a hill to an enormous fire with our coveralls on. We were so hot that one of my team members was soaked in sweat and steam was coming off of his body.
I learned that I need to start lifting weights so I can carry heavy things. Like logs. And living in a cabin without a door or windows isn’t so bad. I also found out that there is such a creature as a ring-tailed cat. It’s pretty much a mix of a cat, a squirrel, and a raccoon. Use your imagination. Or just google it.

I am proud to announce that Wednesday is induction day for Americorps NCCC and I will officially be a member. Training will be over and I’ll be on my way to New Orleans in a week. As much as I’m excited for New Orleans, I have to admit that traveling to Florida this weekend is consuming my head a little more. :0)

Getting Things Done

ILB

4 Comments

  1. Katelyn Jeffries said,

    November 19, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    i wish you could come to the Baliey Christmas!!!!

  2. schnert said,

    November 19, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    I wish I could come too, Katelyn! Miss you!

  3. Katie said,

    November 20, 2007 at 12:52 am

    I am jealous about the redwoods. Still super proud of you schnertle!

  4. Katelyn Jeffries said,

    November 29, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    miss you too


Leave a Reply

